Author Topic: Icebox drain  (Read 11350 times)

Dulcinea

• P323
    • View Profile
  • Model: P323
  • Vessel Name: Dulcinea
  • City: Mamaroneck
  • State: NY
Icebox drain
« on: July 05, 2011, 10:09:05 PM »
Hello all:
I recently purchased 323 hull#148, 1978.  Owned a number of larger Pearsons over the years and am definately a Bill Shaw groupie, so it's not like I'm a total newbie.  The former owner of my new old boat passed away prior to my purchase so is "unavailable" for questions, but deserves a great deal of credit for his stewardship of the boat. 

Question 1 - We spent our first weekend on the boat over the 4th and I noticed there was some traces of red antifreeze around the ice box drain and and the box would not exit water from the melting ice.  I looked around for a drain valve but couldn't find one.  Is it just clogged or am I missing something? 

Question 2 - What's the best way to gain access to check/change the oil in the Volvo v-drive engine. 

Question 3 - I cannot figure out where the h... is the access to the seacock valve for the raw water intake to the head. 

Any tips on these would be much appreciated.  The boat is very standard and not a lot of modifications have been done. HELP.
Thanks,
Dennis Roberts

selene

• P323
  • Mighty Member
    • View Profile
  • Vessel Name: Selene
  • City: Redwood City
  • State: CA
Re: Icebox drain
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2011, 01:30:34 PM »
From hull # 212:

1) I think I may have a different setup.  My icebox drain is connected to a Jabsco Topsider pump on the left(stbd) of the sink.  Pump the pump and it drains the icebox.  I have heard in some boats the icebox drains to the bilge...not the best idea, I think.  The red antifreeze worries me - perhaps it was laid up for a while (we don't get that cold around here) with the antifreeze...could that have gummed things up?  You may want to try and trace the pipe, and use a piece of wire or similar to ensure it is clear.