Author Topic: New member looking at a Pearson 36-2  (Read 1376 times)

JayS

• View Profile
  • Model: other
New member looking at a Pearson 36-2
« on: February 11, 2023, 09:40:08 PM »
Thanks for the ad! I've been sailing a 27' Ericson for about 10 years. I have sailed 99% of that time solo, and I sail regularly on the Chesapeake. Some overnights when I have time.

I recently sold my Ericson in order to get the next one (I can't own two!). I have been looking at various larger S/Vs in the 32 to 36 foot range.  The boat that grabbed my attention the most so after has been a Pearson 36-2.  I'll add that my wife is much more interested in this vessel and expresses interest in sailing it. But, realistically, I'm sure I'll be solo a lot of the time.

I'd love to hear from other 36-2 owners about your experiences. How do they handle? What would the learning curve to single hand this boat be? Any specific advice?

It's a shoal draft, all lines lead to cockpit. No windlass. 

I'm a determined learner and I'm nearing retirement and see myself spending even more time on the water. Mostly if not exclusively coastal sailing, perhaps poking out to head towards New England and, who knows, maybe the Bahamas and beyond. 

Thanks!  Jay
s/v Mystic
1990 Pearson 36-2
Yanmar 3YM30AE

sgancarz

• P36
  • Pearson Yacht Enthusiast
    • View Profile
  • Model: P36
  • Vessel Name: Split Pearsonality
  • City: Racine
  • State: WI
Re: New member looking at a Pearson 36-2
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2023, 02:03:11 PM »
Jay,

Welcome to the group.  I have had my 36-2 since 2018 and sail on Lake Michigan.  I went from a Paceship PY26 to the 36-2.  Was a big jump and took quite some time to get used to the extra 10 feet of length and 3 feet of beam while docking.  I absolutely love the 36-2, as does anyone that comes aboard.