Author Topic: New Member/Owner  (Read 1601 times)

DavidG

• P323
  • Pearson Yacht Enthusiast
    • View Profile
  • Model: P323
  • Vessel Name: Independence
  • City: Georgetown
  • State: MD
New Member/Owner
« on: October 25, 2022, 03:22:48 PM »
Hello, all.  I am new to the owner's group and in the process of purchasing/closing on a 1980 P323.  I studied long and hard on boat designs that would keep me as small as possible (for purposes of maintenance, single handing (mostly), maximum creature comforts of a cruising design) but gives me the critical needs that I determined for myself: single handling, as large a galley as possible, sit-down chart table, hull design (modified keel with skeg rudder ), internal ballast, shower, deck to hull joint, decent big water performance specs, less than 5' draft, and desirable but not absolute was a quarter berth (my P323 doesn't have the option), deck bulwarks, new diesel, sail performance (mainly for crawling off a lee shore, and hove-to capability), and lastly a balance of glass/teak (not to look too sterile/plastic).  Well, I narrowed it down to a couple of American boats (although more European) and the P323 caught my eye and gave me most if not all of my needs and preferences!  This assessment has come after 50 years of sailing and finally understanding what I really want!  I will close on the boat after survey (not sure that I needed one after my inspection but thought why not since I plan on owning and keeping this boat until... my end) and sail it up the Chesapeake latter part of this November to her new home on the Sassafras River where we will hail from.  As with all personable relationships, she will be a labor of love (second to my first, who lets me have these toys), which I now look forward to interacting on the many problems to be solved that we all have that I have already started mining a couple of areas needing to be addressed from my inspection!  I already appreciate the SME heavy's that are readily connec