Author Topic: Where to mount 15W solar panel?  (Read 17629 times)

Dave

• P323
  • P323 hull #376
    • View Profile
  • Model: P323
Where to mount 15W solar panel?
« on: March 21, 2012, 07:41:46 AM »
Any ideas, any places that have proven to be a serious no-no?
« Last Edit: January 01, 2013, 02:41:10 AM by SeaFever »
Dave

adventurer, ex-hippy, good timer, (crook? quite possibly), manic self-publicist, terribly bad at personal relationships, often thought to be completely out to lunch

selene

• P323
  • Mighty Member
    • View Profile
  • Vessel Name: Selene
  • City: Redwood City
  • State: CA
Re: Where to mount 15W solar panel?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2012, 12:18:19 PM »
I'd welcome some info when you are done - I was embarking on a similar project this year.  My thought was off the back rail. This article (from an excellent site which I have used extensively) at  http://www.pbase.com/mainecruising/solar_panel  inspired me.

(DISCLAIMER: I'm no expert, so just researching right now)

Are you sure 15W will be enough for top-up (I assume)? I have 2 G27 batteries: 2x115AH = 230AH

Per Trojan: “Trojan batteries self-discharge approximately 4% per week at 80o F”
(http://www.trojanbattery.com/Tech-Support/FAQ/Charging.aspx)

4% of 230A =  ~1.5A per day discharge = 20W (minimum) to replace each day for maintenance. 

Then factor in hours of sunlight, etc.

Dave

• P323
  • P323 hull #376
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2012, 03:07:26 PM »
I have shore power and when we are cruising I have a EU2000. I got this panel primarily for maintainibg the batteries if I am away from the boat without shore power so they do not discharge.
Dave

adventurer, ex-hippy, good timer, (crook? quite possibly), manic self-publicist, terribly bad at personal relationships, often thought to be completely out to lunch

Dolce_Vita

• P323
    • View Profile
    • S/V Dolce Vita
  • Vessel Name: Dolce Vita
  • City: Pasadena
  • State: MD
Funny math?