• P323
    • View Profile
  • Model: P323
  • Vessel Name: Wind and Spirit
  • City: Chicago Monroe Harbor
  • State: IL
Teak
« on: March 29, 2013, 11:16:08 AM »
Does anyone have experience with Cetol Marine from Sikkens?  Do you recomend it?

selene

• P323
  • Mighty Member
    • View Profile
  • Vessel Name: Selene
  • City: Redwood City
  • State: CA
Re: Teak
« Reply #1 on: April 01, 2013, 11:48:18 AM »
I have been using Cetol on my teak for a few years now, and am happy with it.  Cetol has come a long way from the awful orange-colored product they initially sold - a product on which many still judge the company.  A guy a few boats down from me last year somehow got an old can of Cetol (cheap) - yuck - after the first coat, realized his mistake and had to start again!

My process:  Having cleaned, repaired and bleached the wood (to remove stains), I put on a couple of layers of Cetol Teak, and then 3 layers of Cetol Clear.  I now touch up any dings during the year (important!), and then recoat all the brightwork with Cetol Clear every season (a relatively quick and easy job; just clean with a kitchen scouring pad and recoat).  I said important above because if you don't touch up a ding quickly, water/weather will change the color of the wood under the ding, and it will stay a slightly different color.

Cetol Advantages: Very easy to apply, very easy to maintain.
Disadvantage: Not quite as nice as varnish (maybe 80% as good for 20% the effort...)

Varnish:
Advantage: Beautiful
Disadvantage: Difficult and time-consuming to apply.  Generally needs to be reapplied twice a year (a couple of layers, sanding between each layer).  Less forgiving/more fragile.

I have varnish below, Cetol topsides.....
« Last Edit: April 20, 2013, 02:53:30 PM by selene »

Dulcinea

• P323
    • View Profile
  • Vessel Name: Dulcinea
  • City: Mamaroneck
  • State: NY
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2013, 05:08:44 PM »